Footy Focus – May 21



It has been a long time since Arsenal last won a trophy. Almost nine years in fact! So their thrilling 3-2 win over Hull in the FA Cup final had fans celebrating long into the night and again the next day as a quarter of a million people came out for their bus-top parade. Hull got off to the perfect start, leading 2-0 early on but Santi Cazorla scored an amazing free kick, and eventually Arsenal scored a deserved equaliser to take the game into extra time. Aaron Ramsey then topped off a great season by scoring the winner – a goal that will be remembered for a long time in the history of the FA Cup.


That cup is the oldest competition in the sport, and now Arsenal have won it a record-tying 11 times. Manchester United have also won it that many times, and they had an interesting week themselves, with the legendary Ryan Giggs retiring and Netherlands coach Louis Van Gaal being announced as manager. Giggs played a record 963 times for United, and his most famous moment was surely this incredible goal that he scored against Arsenal in an FA Cup semi-final.


Atletico Madrid! Champions of Spain! They needed a win or a draw against Barcelona in the final game of the season to do it, though the game was quickly off to a poor start. Both Diego Costa and Ardo Turan had to be subbed off early, and then Barcelona took the lead through a thunderbolt from Alexi Sanchez. But Atletico were not going to be denied their first league title since 1996. Diego Godin scored from a corner after half-time and Atletico held off Barcelona’s desperate attempts for a winner. Congratulations to Atletico Madrid, though the job is far from over, with a Champions League final to play on Sunday morning New Zealand time.


Germany, Italy & France

Bayern Munich will be upset still after their disappointing Champions League exit at the hands of Real Madrid, though they remain the best in Germany. They added a German cup to their Bundesliga title for a second consecutive domestic double. It took extra time over Borussia Dortmund, but they prevailed 2-0 in the end. Thomas Muller and Arjen Robben scored the goals. Italy and France have finished their seasons, so all we have to go on there is the celebrations and speculations. Dimitar Berbatov has signed an extension with Monaco for next year, while Juventus had a lot of fun with their own parade having won another Serie A title.